Without You Beside Me

I lay here in our bed

Alone

But when I close my eyes

I imagine your arms around me

Your breath on my neck

Whispers of love and forever

On my hip rests your hand

A leg thrown over mine

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

If I turn my face

Will I see your eyes looking back into mine?

Will I feel your soft warm skin beneath my fingertips?

Will you tell me you love me?

Will I be whole again?

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

I roll over, my hand touches cold sheets

My eyes open and I’m still alone

My breath hitches

My heart stutters

Tears flow once again

I miss you so much

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

Without you beside me

I am half of a woman

Less even than that

Because you’ve added so much to my life

Without you beside me

I survive but can’t thrive

Much as before we reconnected 

It wasn’t much of a life

Without you beside me 

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

And then I remember 

All the promises and declarations

The strange circumstances 

And bad timing

Losing my heart but gaining yours

Opening my eyes, seeing things new

Laughing and sighing

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

Your face and your smile

Your eyes and your voice

Your touch and your body

The smell of your skin

Your taste on my lips and my tongue

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

In my mind I hear

Your moans and your growls

I hear you say you love me

That I’m yours, I’m all you want

Promising me forever

Binding yourself to me

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

I remember your body against mine

Holding, touching, clinging

Slow and gentle

Frantic and desperate 

Lips and tongues, sweating and moaning

Hard and soft

Wet, wanting, needy

Crying out then sighing in release

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

I love you, don’t leave me

I can’t face this world without you beside me

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

Driving in the car, music on

Heads bobbing, softly singing along

Falling deeper in love

I can’t touch you enough

Can’t get close enough

This damn seatbelt

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

Tell me more about your life

Let me hear your voice

Dream more dreams that include me

Let’s make plans

Or even just live in the moment

I don’t care

I just want you

I can’t imagine life without you beside me 

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

My insecurities overwhelm me

When you’re here, you know just what to say

To help me overcome myself 

Without you beside me 

My thoughts take over

The fears creep in

Please don’t forget me 

. . . . .     . . . . .     . . . . .

I love you 

You are my everything 

You make me a better person 

You heal my soul

I need you beside me

I love you

5 thoughts on “Without You Beside Me

Leave a Reply

