No More Games, Please 

You know what?

Fuck this

I’m not gonna keep sitting around

Moping

Waiting

You want to talk to me?

Fine, let’s talk

You wanna ignore me?

I’m done sitting around waiting

For a non-existent conversation 

To happen

Because apparently 

We’ve said all there is to say

All that remains are 

I love you’s 

Status updates

Shallow platitudes 

And sexual forays

Well, I’m sorry sir

That’s just not enough 

For this girl

You can’t put a spell on me

Steal my heart

Upend my life

Say all the right things

And then abandon me

Nope

I won’t play that game

Been there, done that

I’ll wait a little longer

But it won’t be forever 

I can’t be a back-burner girl

Either you’re with me

Or not

We’ve all got issues

Sure

But I won’t let my heart

Be crushed again

I’m putting up some walls

Just so you know

Gotta protect me

I’ll keep them small for now

But I might keep adding on

Depending

On you

You want me?

Well then work for me

I’m not free

Maybe not even cheap

But I am worth it

2 thoughts on “No More Games, Please 

Leave a Reply

